World under-18 leaders Burgin and Ogbechie among 33 on their way to European under-18 championships

| | ,

Dominic Ogbechie clears 2.22m for a world age best. Photo: Morris Fox/myvision4reel

Current world under-18 leaders Max Burgin (coach: Brian Burgin, club: Halifax Harriers) and Dominic Ogbechie (Marius Guei, Highgate) headline the British team for the second European Athletics under-18 Championships taking place between 5-8 July in Gyor, Hungary.

Burgin set a European under-16 best over 800m earlier this year, clocking 1:47.50 at the British Milers Club meeting in Trafford back in May. The Yorkshire-based athlete earns his first British vest after a tremendous season to date.

Ogbechie cleared a world age 15 best of 2.22m indoors in the high jump in February (below); his 2.18m outdoors performance is also a world leading clearance. It was a breakthrough moment for the 16-year-old in Sheffield back in February and he has backed that up with a number of solid displays heading into the outdoors, including a 2.16m in Bedford to win the England under-20 title.

European U18 leaders Keely Hodgkinson (Margaret Galvin, Leigh), Kane Elliott (William Sharp, Falkirk) and Thomas Keen (Cambridge & Coleridge) go in the women’s 800m, men’s 1500m and 3000m respectively in the highly competitive endurance events. Keen is ranked second in the world in the age-group, while Rory Leonard (David McKay, Morpeth) – who has also been selected in the 3000m – ranked in third place.

The Great Britain and Northern Ireland team will have four athletes in the shot put after an impressive season from the U18 athletes. George Hyde (Tony Hyde, West Cheshire) and Lewis Byng (Richard Woodhall, Stratford-upon-Avon) are selected for the men’s event, both setting personal bests in the last week, 18.89m and 18.86m respectively.

In the women’s equivalent, Serena Vincent (Bronwin Carter, City of Portsmouth) and Hannah Molyneaux (Malcolm Fenton, Sheffield & Dearne) showed their form at the England Athletics under-20 and under-23 Championships last weekend, also throwing PBs of 16.57m and 16.51m respectively.

In the men’s 400m, Ben Pattison (seen winning above, Dave Ragan, Basingstoke & Mid Hants) and Ethan Brown (Lloyd Cowan, Blackheath & Bromley) impressed at the England Championships, beating their under-20 opponents to claim the top two positions. They are ranked second and third in the European U18 rankings this year so they will be eyeing the podium places come July.

The British team topped the medal table at the first edition of these championships in 2016, winning five gold medals and 13 overall.

Team Leader, Femi Akinsanya commented: “The U18 age group is incredibly competitive in the country this season and we are very pleased to have selected such a strong squad of athletes. It is a great opportunity for these young athletes to compete on the international stage and I’m excited to see how they perform on this stage and what they can learn from their experience.”

The British Athletics team for the European Athletics under-18 Championships between 5-8 July 2018 in Gyor, Hungary:



Amy Hunt (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) *subject to fitness

Cassie-Ann Pemberton (Sharon Morris, Birchfield Harriers)


Hannah Foster (Craig Andrew, Shaftesbury Barnet)

Natasha Harrison (Pete Torrance, Stockport)


Keeley Hodgkinson (Margaret Galvin, Leigh)


Emily Williams (Shane Smith, Kettering)


Charlotte Alexander (Wayne Vinton, Herne Hill)

Kiara Frizelle (Chris Jones, Cardiff) *subject to fitness

2000m Steeplechase:

Elise Thorner (Abi Tickner, Wells City)

100m Hurdles:

Lucy-Jane Matthews (Andrew Fisher, Southampton)

Marcia Sey (Lorna Boothe, Croydon)

400m Hurdles:

Jasmine Jolly (Peter Crook, Preston)

Shot Put:

Hannah Molyneaux (Malcolm Fenton, Sheffield & Dearne)

Serena Vincent (Bronwin Cater, City of Portsmouth)

Triple Jump:

Lily Hulland (Paco Montesinos, Cueva de Nerja)

Pole Vault:

Jade Spencer-Smith (Ellie Spain, Harrow)



Ethan Brown (Lloyd Cowan, Blackheath & Bromley)

Ben Pattison (Dave Ragan, Basingstoke & Mid Hants)


Max Burgin (Brian Burgin, Halifax Harriers)


Kane Elliott (William Sharp, Falkirk)

Jacques Maurice (Andrew Henderson, Harrogate)


Thomas Keen (Mark Vile, Cambridge & Coleridge)

Rory Leonard (David McKay Morpeth)

2000m Steeplechase:

Ben Thomas (Neil Thomas, Carmarthen)

110m hurdles:

Sam Bennett (Sam Surety, Basildon)

Jordan Ricketts (Anthony Pitt, Birchfield)

400m Hurdles:

Karl Johnson (Tony Jarrett, Newham & Essex Beagles)

High Jump:

Dominic Ogbechie (Marius Guei, Highgate)

Shot Put:

Lewis Byng (Richard Woodhall, Stratford-upon-Avon)

George Hyde (West Cheshire)


Max Law (Sam Harrison, Havering)


Ollie Thorne (Alan Richardson, Wells City)

Jack Turner (Kevin Skinner, Exeter)