New Jamaican anti-doping commission announced

| |

The new Jamaican Anti-Doping Commission (JADCO) has been announced following the entire boards’ resignation two months ago, which was headed by Dr. Herb Elliot.

JADCO’s credibility had been questioned since former executive director, Renee Anne Shirley, brought to light that just one out-of-competition test took place between Feburary 2012 and the London Olympic Games.

Natalie Neita-Headley, the Jamaican minister with responsibility for sport, said: “JADCO’s commissioners met and acknowledged that there was a public perception of the existence of conflicts of interests among some of the members of the commission.”

Neita-Headley believes that the resignation of the board was necessary in order to improve public confidence in JADCO.

The new board will remain in place for three years, until December 2016. The appointment of the new chief executive, Jamaican businessman Danny Williams, was announced on Thursday.

Other members of the commission include Dr. Winston Isles, Gary Peart, Neville Williams, Dennis Lalor, Dr, Thelma Nelson, Anthony Lawrence, Dr. Patricia Holness, Carmen Tipling, Reverend Devon Dick and Jacqueline Lyn Stewart.